Books  Animal & General Biology  Animals: Vertebrate Zoology 

Evolution and Biogeography of Australasian Vertebrates

Out of Print

Edited By: JR Merrick, M Archer, GM Hickey and MSY Lee

942 pages, line diagrams, 100 colour plates

Auscipub

Paperback | Dec 2006 | #164346 | ISBN: 0975779001
Out of Print Details
Hardback | Dec 2006 | #164345 | ISBN: 097577901X
Out of Print Details

About this book

Provides a comprehensive overview of the knowledge of vertebrate diversity within Australasia, together with discussion of the factors that influenced the evolution and distributions of the faunas we see today. By considering the major forces shaping the extant vertebrate assemblages, using new techniques and strategies, we can formulate ideas about how to best conserve and manage these dynamic vertebrate groups as well as the ecosystem complexes on which they depend.

The 38 chapters are divided into 7 major sections. The first group of chapters covers the general topics of classification and evolution, together with geologic and climatic processes influencing environments and biogeography of parts of Australasia. Then follow 5 sections that each concentrate on a major vertebrate grouping, from primitive jawless fishes to specialized marine mammals and humans. The final section focuses on the future, describing some of the latest techniques and systems used for assessing biodiversity and assisting in conservation management.

Each chapter is fully sourced and illustrated with line diagrams, as well as other figures next to the relevant text. Attempts have been made to maintain a clear, informal style for readers without specialized knowledge and a humorous or irreverent essence when appropriate. The 136 colour plates are distributed throughout the book as close to the related chapters as possible. A general combined Index is at the back.

Over 50 leading researchers, from all parts of Australasia and elsewhere, have combined as authors and coauthors to make this a ground-breaking volume of international significance. This resource book follows in the tradition of Vertebrate Zoogeography & Evolution in Australasia (edited by Archer and Clayton) released in 1984.


Write a review

There are currently no reviews for this product. Be the first to review this product!

Bestsellers in this subject

Skeletons: The Extraordinary Form & Function of Bones

NHBS Special Offer Price: £11.99 £14.99 (Save £3.00) $15/€14 approx (ends 31/12/2016)

Great Transformations in Vertebrate Evolution

NHBS Price: £33.99 $43/€40 approx

On the Wing

NHBS Price: £19.99 $25/€24 approx

Bat Bioacoustics

NHBS Price: £81.99 $103/€98 approx

The Unfeathered Bird

NHBS Price: £34.95 $44/€42 approx