Books  Zoology  Ornithology  Non-Passerines  Birds of Prey 

Raptor: A Journey Through Birds

Coming Soon
A stunning debut in the tradition of Robert Macfarlane and Helen Macdonald

By: James Macdonald Lockhart (Author)

376 pages, no illustrations

Fourth Estate

Paperback | 2017 | #227068 | ISBN-13: 9780007459896
Available for pre-order: Due Mar 2017 Details
NHBS Price: £9.99 $12/€11 approx
Hardback | Feb 2016 | #227069 | ISBN-13: 9780007459872
Availability: In stock
NHBS Special Offer Price: £11.99 £16.99 (Save £5.00) $15/€13 approx (ends 31/12/2016)

About this book

Of all the birds of the British Isles, the raptor reigns supreme, sparking the imagination like no other. In this magnificent hymn to these beautiful animals, James Macdonald Lockhart explores all fifteen breeding birds of prey on these shores – from the hen harrier swimming over the land in the dregs of a May gale on Orkney, to the ghostly sparrowhawk displaying in the fields around his home in Warwickshire. This is a book that will change how we think of our own skies.

"[...] Any bird of prey fan, particularly those with an interest in these spectacular birds' changing fortunes over time, will find it irresistible, and it is thoroughly recommended."
– Rob Hume, BirdGuides, 31-08-2016

Write a review

There are currently no reviews for this product. Be the first to review this product!


James Macdonald Lockhart is an associate editor of, and regular contributor to, Archipelago Magazine, and a literary agent at Antony Harwood Limited.

Bestsellers in this subject

Flight Identification of Raptors of Europe, North Africa and the Middle East

NHBS Special Offer Price: £29.99 £44.99 (Save £15.00) $37/€34 approx (ends 31/12/2016)


NHBS Price: £27.99 £34.99 (Save £7.00) $34/€31 approx

The Life of Buzzards

NHBS Price: £22.99 $28/€26 approx

The Raptors of Europe and the Middle East

NHBS Price: £29.99 $37/€34 approx

The Merlin

NHBS Price: £39.99 $49/€45 approx