Books  Zoology  Mammals  Insectivores to Ungulates  Carnivores  Bears, Raccoons & Pandas (Ursidae - Ailuridae) 

Lonesome for Bears: A Woman's Journey in the Tracks of the Wilderness

Biography / Memoir

By: Linda Jo Hunter (Author), Amy Shapira (Illustrator)

144 pages, b/w illustrations

Lyons Press

Paperback | Apr 2008 | #228464 | ISBN-13: 9781599212104
Availability: Usually dispatched within 6 days Details
NHBS Price: £12.95 $16/€15 approx

About this book

Linda Hunter was terrified of bears, but she yearned for the solitude of the wilderness. Setting aside her fears, she became an expert tracker and guide and grew to miss the company of the very animals that once kept her from her love of the outdoors. As caretakers and guides at Redoubt Bay Lodge, Hunter and her husband lived side by side with brown bears in Alaska, learning to understand their behavior and developing a passion for conserving their natural habitat. This is a moving story about personal transformation, with insights about bear behavior, luscious full-color photos, and informative and entertaining anecdotes. For fans of The Grizzly Maze and Grizzly Man, but also for any reader who cares about wild animals.


Author's Note

Chapter 1. Getting Interested in Bears
Chapter 2. 2002 Summer Season
Chapter 3. 2003 Summer Season
Chapter 4. 2004 Summer Season
Chapter 5. 2005 Summer Season
Chapter 6. Bears and the Environment
Chapter 7. Bears from Other Times
Chapter 8. Bears from Other Places
Chapter 9. A Bear Mauling
Chapter 10. Are Bears Dangerous?
Chapter 11. Encounter Strategies

About the Author
About the Photographer

Write a review

There are currently no reviews for this product. Be the first to review this product!


Linda Hunter is the lead guide and assistant manager at Redoubt Bay Lodge in Alaska. She is a seasoned public speaker, the co-founder of the International Society of Professional Trackers, and an active member of Vital Ground. For over twenty years, she has written magazine articles about the outdoors for numerous publications.

Amy Shapira is an award-winning bear photographer with over ten years experience of shooting her favorite (and only) subjects. She is an active member of Vital Ground and works tirelessly for the benefit of bears world wide.

Bestsellers in this subject

Polar Bears on the Edge

NHBS Price: £14.99 $18/€17 approx

Bears: A Year in the Life

NHBS Price: £14.99 $18/€17 approx

Polar Bears

NHBS Price: £24.99 $31/€28 approx

The Nights of the Bear

NHBS Price: £42.99 $53/€48 approx

Bear Necessities

NHBS Price: £34.99 $43/€39 approx