Books  Evolutionary Biology  Human Evolution & Anthropology 

Life at the Extremes: The Science of Survival

Popular Science

By: Frances Ashcroft

326 pages, B/w photos, b/w illus

Flamingo

Paperback | Jul 2001 | #145883 | ISBN: 0006551254
Availability: Usually dispatched within 1 week Details
NHBS Price: £9.99 $13/€12 approx
Hardback | Dec 2000 | #106984 | ISBN: 0002559463
Out of Print Details

About this book

Explores the limits to human survival in harsh environments with reference to the physiological adaptations of other species. A popular science landmark in the tradition of Steve Jones and Susan Greenfield, by the Oxford Professor of Physiology.

'She has the power of making the armchair adventurer feel quite frail. Add to that her gift for carving deep into your mind how vulnerable our species is to extreme conditions, and you are in for a thrilling read.' New Scientist 'I read "Life at the Extremes" with horrid delight!It is extremely good, crammed with invaluable information but you don't need a degree in cryptocryogenics to understand it. Here is a scientist who can enthral even as she instructs -- and the way she accomplishes this is by telling adventure stories!As a testament to the tenacity of the human race, this book is a potent mix of the ingenious, the heroic and the hardy.' Literary Review 'For would-be explorers snuggled up in their armchairs -- or, indeed stretched out on the beach -- this book, with its many vicarious thrills, makes for ideal reading.' Economist 'A very good book!which works both as a continuous narrative of delightful vignettes and a quick reference guide. Easy to read, entertaining and informative.' Sunday Times 'Ashcroft is good at opening up aspects of daily life normally sealed off to the non-scientist.' Sara Wheeler, Spectator


Write a review

There are currently no reviews for this product. Be the first to review this product!


Biography

Frances Ashcroft is a Professor of Physiology at Oxford. She divides her time between research on insulin, teaching and writing. 'She seems to have experienced most of the extreme environments she investigates, and has the power of making the armchair adventurer feel quite frail. Add to that her gift for carving deep into your mind how vulnerable our species is to extreme conditions, and you are in for a thrilling read. Life at the Extremes is fascinating an extremely engaging piece of work.' New Scientist 'Easy to read, entertaining and informative' John Gribbin, Sunday Times

Bestsellers in this subject

The Accidental Species

NHBS Price: £10.50 $13/€13 approx

Darwin's Hunch

NHBS Price: £16.95 $21/€20 approx

Zooarchaeology and Modern Human Origins

NHBS Price: £89.99 $113/€107 approx

Origins: The Search for Our Prehistoric Past

NHBS Price: £19.95 $25/€24 approx

Evolution: What the Fossils Say and Why it Matters

NHBS Price: £25.99 $33/€31 approx