Books  Palaeontology & Geology  Geology  Structural Geology & Plate Tectonics 

Earthquakes in the Mediterranean and Middle East: A Multidisciplinary Study of Seismicity up to 1900

By: NN Ambraseys

800 pages, 83 tones, 23 maps, 179 figures, 14 graphs

Cambridge University Press

Hardback | Oct 2009 | #181299 | ISBN-13: 9780521872928
Availability: Usually dispatched within 6 days Details
NHBS Price: £130.00 $169/€148 approx

About this book

This book examines historical evidence from the last 2000 years to analyse earthquakes in the eastern Mediterranean and Middle East. Early chapters review techniques of historical seismology, while the main body of the book comprises a catalogue of more than 4000 earthquakes identified from historical sources. Each event is supported by textual evidence extracted from primary sources and translated into English.

Covering southern Rumania, Greece, Turkey, Lebanon, Israel, Egypt, Jordan, Syria, and Iraq, the book documents past seismic events, places them in a broad tectonic framework, and provides essential information for those attempting to prepare for, and mitigate the effects of, future earthquakes and tsunamis in these countries. This volume is an indispensable reference for researchers studying the seismic history of the eastern Mediterranean and Middle East, including archaeologists, historians, earth scientists, engineers and earthquake hazard analysts.

Praise for The Seismicity of Egypt, Arabia and the Red Sea (Cambridge University Press, 1994) co-authored by Professor Ambraseys: 'Once again the authors are to be congratulated on a painstaking piece of research that is now the starting point for anyone working on the seismicity of this region.' Martin Degg, Geoscientist


Preface; 1. Macroseismic information; 2. Evaluation of macroseismic data; 3. Catalogue of earthquakes; 4. Evaluation of instrumental data; 5. Long-term seismicity; 6. Future challenges; Appendix: Photographs of researchers in the field; References; Index.

Write a review

There are currently no reviews for this book. Be the first to review this book!


Nicholas Ambraseys was trained at the Imperial College of Science, London, as a Civil Engineer, specialising in soil dynamics and engineering geology. He later became Professor of Engineering Seismology, and Head of the Engineering Seismology Section at Imperial College. Since 1994, he has been a Senior Research Investigator and Fellow in the Department of Civil Engineering. Professor Ambraseys is a Fellow of The Royal Academy of Engineering, The European Academy, and The Academy of Athens, and has been awarded medals from The Royal Geographical Society (1975), The Geological Society of London (2002) and the Seismological Society of America (2006). He is currently Vice-President of the European Association for Earthquake Engineering, Director of the International Association for Earthquake Engineering, Chairman of the International Commission for the Protection of Historical Monuments and co-editor of the Journal of Earthquake Engineering. Professor Ambraseys is the author of two other books for Cambridge University Press: A History of Persian Earthquakes (1982) and The Seismicity of Egypt, Arabia and the Red Sea (1994).

Bestsellers in this subject

Precambrian Rocks of England and Wales

NHBS Price: £53.00 $69/€60 approx

Lewisian, Torridonian and Moine Rocks of Scotland

NHBS Price: £76.00 $99/€87 approx

Earthquake Time Bombs

NHBS Price: £19.99 $26/€23 approx

Plate Tectonics

NHBS Price: £49.99 $65/€57 approx

Earth History and Palaeogeography

NHBS Price: £54.99 $72/€63 approx

VAT: GB 407 4846 44
NHBS Ltd is registered in England and Wales: 1875194