Books  Natural History  General Natural History 

The Cultural Histories Series

Most Recently Published

A Cultural History of Gardens (6-Volume Set)

By: Michael Leslie(Editor), John Dixon Hunt(Editor)

From £125.00

The Cultural Histories are multi-volume sets offering comprehensive surveys of  the social and cultural construction of specific subjects across six historial periods:  Antiquity, The Medieval Age, The Renaissance, The Enlightenment, The Age of Empire, and The Modern Age.  Each volume discusses the same themes in its chapters so that readers may gain a broad understanding of a period by reading an entire volume, or follow a theme through history by reading the relevant chapter in each volume. Generously illustrated, each six-volume set combines to present an authoritative overview of its subject throughout history.  Subjects covered to date include Animals, the Human Body, Childhood and Family, Sexuality, Gardens, Women and Food.

Publisher: Berg Publishers

Forthcoming volumes in this series will be added to this page as soon as we become aware of them.

Please contact about setting up a standing order, or if you would like to be notified when we add new volumes.

Sort by  

VAT: GB 407 4846 44
NHBS Ltd is registered in England and Wales: 1875194