Books  Conservation & Biodiversity  Parks & Protected Areas 

UK SPA Network: Its Scope and Content Series

Presents extensive details of the UK's Special Protection Area network, which currently comprises 243 SPAs and protects 103 species. Arising from the EU's 'Birds Directive' of 1979, which established an internationally coordinated network of protected areas, especially wetlands, the system distils best available information on species' conservation requirements. The UK's geographic position makes it exceptionally important for breeding seabirds and as a wintering area for waterbirds. The UK uplands also have a unique bird community.

Publisher: Joint Nature Conservation Committee

Forthcoming volumes in this series will be added to this page as soon as we become aware of them.

Please contact about setting up a standing order, or if you would like to be notified when we add new volumes.

Sort by  

VAT: GB 407 4846 44
NHBS Ltd is registered in England and Wales: 1875194