Books  Natural History  Outdoor Pursuits 

Wainwright's Illustrated Walking Guides to the Lake District [Third Edition]

Most Recently Published

The Central Fells

Volume:  3
By: Alfred Wainwright(Author), Clive Hutchby(Editor)

Sub-series of: Wainwright Guides [NHBS List]

A Pictorial Guide to the Lakeland Fells is a series of seven books by Andrew Wainwright, detailing the fells (the local word for hills and mountains) of the Lake District in northwest England. Written over a period of 13 years from 1952, they consist entirely of reproductions of Wainwright's manuscript, hand-produced in pen and ink with no typeset material.

The series has been in print almost continuously since it was first published between 1955 and 1966, with more than 2 million copies sold. It is still regarded by many walkers as the definitive guide to the Lakeland mountains. The 214 fells described in the seven volumes have become known as the Wainwrights.

Alfred Wainwright died in 1991 at the age of 84. A second edition of the series was published by Frances Lincoln between 2005 and 2009, and revised by Chris Jesty. For the third edition of the series Frances Lincoln has involved Clive Hutchby, author of The Wainwright Companion.

Publisher: Frances Lincoln Ltd

Forthcoming volumes in this series will be added to this page as soon as we become aware of them.

Please contact about setting up a standing order, or if you would like to be notified when we add new volumes.

Sort by  

VAT: GB 407 4846 44
NHBS Ltd is registered in England and Wales: 1875194