Books  Natural History  Outdoor Pursuits 

Wainwright's Pictorial Guides to the Lakeland Fells - 50th Anniversary Edition [First Edition]

Most Recently Published

The Eastern Fells

Volume:  1
By: Alfred Wainwright(Author)

Sub-series of: Wainwright Guides [NHBS List]

A Pictorial Guide to the Lakeland Fells is a series of seven books by Andrew Wainwright, detailing the fells (the local word for hills and mountains) of the Lake District in northwest England. Written over a period of 13 years from 1952, they consist entirely of reproductions of Wainwright's manuscript, hand-produced in pen and ink with no typeset material.

The series has been in print almost continuously since it was first published between 1955 and 1966, with more than 2 million copies sold. It is still regarded by many walkers as the definitive guide to the Lakeland mountains. The 214 fells described in the seven volumes have become known as the Wainwrights.

Alfred Wainwright died in 1991 at the age of 84. For this Anniversary edition the pages were freshly reproduced from the original artwork and printed and bound to match the original books as closely as possible. Maps and text are as Wainwright wrote them.

Publisher: Frances Lincoln Ltd

Sort by  

VAT: GB 407 4846 44
NHBS Ltd is registered in England and Wales: 1875194