Books  Ornithology  Birds: General 

The Seasons of the Robin

By: Don Grussing

University of Texas Press

Hardback | Oct 2009 | #180994 | ISBN-13: 9780292721203
Availability: Usually dispatched within 5 days Details
NHBS Price: £18.99 $25/€22 approx

About this book

In a small nest in a large oak tree, the drama begins. A young American Robin breaks open his shell and emerges into a world that will provide the warmth of sunny days and the life-threatening chill of cold, rainy nights; the satisfaction of a full crop and the danger of sudden predator attacks; and the chance to mature into an adult robin who'll begin the cycle of life all over again come next spring. In "The Seasons of the Robin", Don Grussing tells the uncommon life story of one of the most common birds, the North American Robin. Written as fiction to capture the high drama that goes on unnoticed right outside our windows, the book follows a young male robin through the first year of life.

From his perspective, we experience many common episodes of a bird's life-struggling to get out of the egg; awkwardly attempting to master flight; learning to avoid predators; migrating for the first time; returning home; establishing a territory; finding a mate; and beginning the cycle again. This creative approach of presenting natural history through a fictional, yet factually based, story allows us to experience the spine-tingling, nerve-wracking, adrenaline-flowing excitement that is so much a part of the life of every wild thing. As Don Grussing concludes in his preface, 'Once you experience the world through a robin's eyes, I hope you'll look at every wild thing with new appreciation and respect for what they accomplish by living'.

"The American Robin is one of the most familiar North American birds. But how well do you really know it? If you're like me, maybe not as much as you think. The Seasons of the Robin will teach you much about robins, like their breeding biology and feeding habits. But the real value of this book is that it gives a good idea of what a bird's daily life is like, season by season."
- Grant McCreary (27-11-2010), read the full review at The Birder's Library


Preface Part 1. Infancy Chapter 1: Spring Chapter 2: Spring Chapter 3: Spring Chapter 4: Spring Chapter 5: Spring Chapter 6: Spring Part 2. Adolescence Chapter 7: Summer Chapter 8: Summer Chapter 9: Summer Chapter 10: Fall Chapter 11: Fall Chapter 12: Fall Chapter 13: Fall Chapter 14: Winter Chapter 15: Spring Part 3. Adulthood Chapter 16: Spring Chapter 17: Spring Chapter 18: Spring Chapter 19: Spring Chapter 20: Spring Chapter 21: Spring Chapter 22: Spring Chapter 23: Spring Chapter 24: Spring Chapter 25: Spring Chapter 26: Spring

Write a review

There are currently no reviews for this book. Be the first to review this book!

Bestsellers in this subject

Birds New to Science

NHBS Price: £44.99 $59/€51 approx

The Most Perfect Thing

NHBS Price: £9.99 $13/€11 approx

The Helm Guide to Bird Identification

NHBS Price: £24.99 $33/€28 approx

Bird Photographer of the Year 2017

NHBS Price: £24.99 $33/€28 approx

Mrs Moreau's Warbler

NHBS Price: £16.99 $22/€19 approx

VAT: GB 407 4846 44
NHBS Ltd is registered in England and Wales: 1875194