All Shops

Go to British Wildlife

6 issues per year 84 pages per issue Subscription only

British Wildlife is the leading natural history magazine in the UK, providing essential reading for both enthusiast and professional naturalists and wildlife conservationists. Published six times a year, British Wildlife bridges the gap between popular writing and scientific literature through a combination of long-form articles, regular columns and reports, book reviews and letters.

Subscriptions from £25 per year

Conservation Land Management

4 issues per year 44 pages per issue Subscription only

Conservation Land Management (CLM) is a quarterly magazine that is widely regarded as essential reading for all who are involved in land management for nature conservation, across the British Isles. CLM includes long-form articles, events listings, publication reviews, new product information and updates, reports of conferences and letters.

Subscriptions from £18 per year
Academic & Professional Books  Mammals  Insectivores to Ungulates  Carnivores  Bears, Raccoons & Pandas (Ursidae - Ailuridae)

Lonesome for Bears A Woman's Journey in the Tracks of the Wilderness

Biography / Memoir
By: Linda Jo Hunter(Author), Amy Shapira(Illustrator)
144 pages, b/w illustrations
Publisher: Lyons Press
Lonesome for Bears
Click to have a closer look
Select version
  • Lonesome for Bears ISBN: 9781599212104 Paperback Apr 2008 Usually dispatched within 6 days
    £12.95
    #228464
Selected version: £12.95
About this book Contents Customer reviews Biography Related titles

About this book

Linda Hunter was terrified of bears, but she yearned for the solitude of the wilderness. Setting aside her fears, she became an expert tracker and guide and grew to miss the company of the very animals that once kept her from her love of the outdoors. As caretakers and guides at Redoubt Bay Lodge, Hunter and her husband lived side by side with brown bears in Alaska, learning to understand their behavior and developing a passion for conserving their natural habitat. This is a moving story about personal transformation, with insights about bear behavior, luscious full-color photos, and informative and entertaining anecdotes. For fans of The Grizzly Maze and Grizzly Man, but also for any reader who cares about wild animals.

Contents

Acknowledgments
Author's Note

Prologue
Chapter 1. Getting Interested in Bears
Chapter 2. 2002 Summer Season
Chapter 3. 2003 Summer Season
Chapter 4. 2004 Summer Season
Chapter 5. 2005 Summer Season
Chapter 6. Bears and the Environment
Chapter 7. Bears from Other Times
Chapter 8. Bears from Other Places
Chapter 9. A Bear Mauling
Chapter 10. Are Bears Dangerous?
Chapter 11. Encounter Strategies

Bibliography
About the Author
About the Photographer

Customer Reviews

Biography

Linda Hunter is the lead guide and assistant manager at Redoubt Bay Lodge in Alaska. She is a seasoned public speaker, the co-founder of the International Society of Professional Trackers, and an active member of Vital Ground. For over twenty years, she has written magazine articles about the outdoors for numerous publications.

Amy Shapira is an award-winning bear photographer with over ten years experience of shooting her favorite (and only) subjects. She is an active member of Vital Ground and works tirelessly for the benefit of bears world wide.

Biography / Memoir
By: Linda Jo Hunter(Author), Amy Shapira(Illustrator)
144 pages, b/w illustrations
Publisher: Lyons Press
Current promotions
Backlist BargainsThe Mammal SocietyOrder your free copy of our 2018 equipment catalogueBritish Wildlife