To see accurate pricing, please choose your delivery country.
 
 
United States
£ GBP
All Shops
EU Shipping Update - read more

British Wildlife

8 issues per year 84 pages per issue Subscription only

British Wildlife is the leading natural history magazine in the UK, providing essential reading for both enthusiast and professional naturalists and wildlife conservationists. Published eight times a year, British Wildlife bridges the gap between popular writing and scientific literature through a combination of long-form articles, regular columns and reports, book reviews and letters.

Subscriptions from £40 per year

Conservation Land Management

4 issues per year 44 pages per issue Subscription only

Conservation Land Management (CLM) is a quarterly magazine that is widely regarded as essential reading for all who are involved in land management for nature conservation, across the British Isles. CLM includes long-form articles, events listings, publication reviews, new product information and updates, reports of conferences and letters.

Subscriptions from £22 per year
Good Reads  Botany  Plants & Gardens

Taming Fruit How Orchards Have Transformed the Land, Offered Sanctuary, and Inspired Creativity

By: Bernd Brunner(Author), Lori Lantz(Translated by)
287 pages, 10 colour & 10 b/w photos, 80 colour illustrations
Publisher: Greystone Books
Taming Fruit
Click to have a closer look
  • Taming Fruit ISBN: 9781771644075 Hardback Nov 2021 Usually dispatched within 1-2 weeks
    £24.99
    #255607
Price: £24.99
About this book Customer reviews Biography Related titles
Images Additional images
Taming FruitTaming FruitTaming FruitTaming FruitTaming FruitTaming Fruit

About this book

A captivating cultural and scientific history of orchards, perfect for readers of Michael Pollan's The Botany of Desire and Mark Kurlansky's Salt.

Throughout history, orchards have served many sacred purposes: they are sites of worship and rest, inspiration for artists and writers, and vibrant community hubs. Moreover, they are places of sustenance. In Taming Fruit, award-winning writer Bernd Brunner interweaves beautiful illustrations and prose to show that the story of orchards is a human story. It is also a story of how humans have shaped and bent nature according to our desires for millennia.

As Brunner tells, the first orchards may have been oases dotted with date trees, where desert nomads stopped to rest. In the Amazon, Indigenous tribes maintained mosaic gardens centuries before colonization. Modern fruit cultivation developed over thousands of years in the East and the West. As populations expanded, fruit trees sprang from the lush gardens of the wealthy and monasteries to fields and roadsides, changing landscapes as they fed the hungry.

But orchards are not only for growing fruit; they have also inspired great artists. Taming Fruit shares paintings, photographs, and illustrations alongside Brunner's enchanting descriptions and research, offering a multifaceted – and long-awaited – portrait of the orchard.

Customer Reviews

Biography

Bernd Brunner is the author of several books including Birdmania and Winterlust, and his writings have appeared in publications around the world including Lapham’s Quarterly, the Paris Review, Quartz, the Times Literary Supplement, and the Wall Street Journal. He divides his time between Istanbul and Berlin.

By: Bernd Brunner(Author), Lori Lantz(Translated by)
287 pages, 10 colour & 10 b/w photos, 80 colour illustrations
Publisher: Greystone Books
Media reviews

"Fruit was there at the beginning of the human story, Bernd Brunner argues in this crisply written and lushly illustrated book."
– Zach St. George, author of The Journeys of Trees

"A beautiful exploration of the life-giving bonds between trees, fruits, and people."
– David George Haskell, author of The Forest Unseen

"An enchanting journey through the world of orchards and botanical curiosities. Anyone who is even a tentative gardener will cherish this lovely book."
– Brian Fagan, author of The Little Ice Age and The Intimate Bond

Current promotions
Collins Bird Guide (New Edition)NHBS Field Guide Sale10% Off a Selected Range of Nest Box CamerasBrowse our 2022 Equipment Catalogues