All Shops

Go to British Wildlife

6 issues per year 84 pages per issue Subscription only

British Wildlife is the leading natural history magazine in the UK, providing essential reading for both enthusiast and professional naturalists and wildlife conservationists. Published six times a year, British Wildlife bridges the gap between popular writing and scientific literature through a combination of long-form articles, regular columns and reports, book reviews and letters.

Subscriptions from £25 per year

Conservation Land Management

4 issues per year 44 pages per issue Subscription only

Conservation Land Management (CLM) is a quarterly magazine that is widely regarded as essential reading for all who are involved in land management for nature conservation, across the British Isles. CLM includes long-form articles, events listings, publication reviews, new product information and updates, reports of conferences and letters.

Subscriptions from £18 per year
Academic & Professional Books  Evolutionary Biology  Evolution

The Evolutionary World

By: Geerat J Vermeij
The Evolutionary World
Click to have a closer look
Select version
  • The Evolutionary World ISBN: 9780312591083 Hardback Mar 2011 Usually dispatched within 6 days
    £19.99
    #189155
Selected version: £19.99
About this book Customer reviews Related titles

About this book

The Evolutionary World presents a new argument for evolution's broader importance. Adaptation plays a role not only in the development of new species but the development of human civilization, and by understanding how evolutionary theory has played out in areas such as our economic system, our preparation for catastrophes, and even the development of communities, we can learn not just how these systems work, but also what challenges lie ahead. For readers of Richard Dawkins and Jerry A. Coyne's "Why Evolution is True", this book offers the next step in appreciating evolution's integral part in our lives.

Customer Reviews

By: Geerat J Vermeij
Media reviews

"To earn the title of distinguished professor of geology at the University of California, Vermeij had to be an astute and careful observer, an original thinker and analyst, and a skilled teacher and communicator. All of these qualities are on display in his new book ... This naturalistic bent is coupled with literary flair."--"The Dallas Morning News"

"A transcendent view of evolution as adaptation, not only accounting for the origin of species but as the force that can explain the accumulation of knowledge, economies and civilization itself."--"Kirkus Reviews"

"An absorbing joy to read."--"Booklist""A marvel ... Vermeij writes personably, and his arguments are detailed but free of jargon.... "The Evolutionary World" is very accessible even to rigorously non-scientific readers like this reviewer. Such attention is richly rewarded."--"Bookpage"

"A bold, brash, and magisterial account of the fundamental mechanisms that built our bodies, our genes, and our society. A culmination

Current promotions
Best of Winter 2018Handbook of the Bees of the British Isles (2-Volume Set)Order your free copy of our 2018 equipment catalogueBritish Wildlife