To see accurate pricing, please choose your delivery country.
United States
All Shops

British Wildlife

8 issues per year 84 pages per issue Subscription only

British Wildlife is the leading natural history magazine in the UK, providing essential reading for both enthusiast and professional naturalists and wildlife conservationists. Published eight times a year, British Wildlife bridges the gap between popular writing and scientific literature through a combination of long-form articles, regular columns and reports, book reviews and letters.

Subscriptions from £33 per year

Conservation Land Management

4 issues per year 44 pages per issue Subscription only

Conservation Land Management (CLM) is a quarterly magazine that is widely regarded as essential reading for all who are involved in land management for nature conservation, across the British Isles. CLM includes long-form articles, events listings, publication reviews, new product information and updates, reports of conferences and letters.

Subscriptions from £26 per year
Tap cross to close filters
Field Guide SaleNHBS Moth TrapNew and Forthcoming BooksBuyers Guides
You are currently shopping in  Academic & Professional Books .
Sort by

Stephen Jay Gould's Essays On Natural History [NHBS list]

Stephen Jay Gould (1941–2002) was an influential American palaeontologist, evolutionary biologist, and historian of science. One of his most important contributions to evolutionary theory was the idea of punctuated equilibrium, that he published in a 1972 paper together with Niles Eldredge. He was also a well-known popularizer of science, and between January 1974 and January 2001 contributed a continuous series of monthly essays on evolution to the magazine Natural History, which were published under the heading This View of Life. These essays were over time reprinted in collected volumes, of which ten were published in total, six with W.W. Norton, and the remaining four with Harmony Books, as can be seen in below table. This table lists the original year of publication and original publisher. These volumes went on to become classics in their own right and have since been reprinted many times, sometimes by different publishers.

 # Title Year Publisher
 1 Ever Since Darwin 1977 W.W. Norton
 2 The Panda's Thumb 1980 W.W. Norton
 3 Hen's Teeth and Horse's Toes 1983 W.W. Norton
 4 The Flamingo's Smile 1985 W.W. Norton
 5 Bully for Brontosaurus 1991 W.W. Norton
 6 Eight Little Piggies 1993 W.W. Norton
 7 Dinosaur in a Haystack 1995 Harmony Books
 8 Leonardo's Mountain of Clams 1998 Harmony Books
 9 The Lying Stones of Marrakech 2000 Harmony Books
 10 I Have Landed 2002 Harmony Books