To see accurate pricing, please choose your delivery country.
United States
All Shops
EU Shipping Update - read more

British Wildlife

8 issues per year 84 pages per issue Subscription only

British Wildlife is the leading natural history magazine in the UK, providing essential reading for both enthusiast and professional naturalists and wildlife conservationists. Published eight times a year, British Wildlife bridges the gap between popular writing and scientific literature through a combination of long-form articles, regular columns and reports, book reviews and letters.

Subscriptions from £32 per year

Conservation Land Management

4 issues per year 44 pages per issue Subscription only

Conservation Land Management (CLM) is a quarterly magazine that is widely regarded as essential reading for all who are involved in land management for nature conservation, across the British Isles. CLM includes long-form articles, events listings, publication reviews, new product information and updates, reports of conferences and letters.

Subscriptions from £22 per year
Tap cross to close filters
Sound Identification of Terrestrial Mammals of Britain & IrelandNHBS Moth TrapBook Clearance Sale
You are currently shopping in  Good Reads .
Sort by

The James Cropper Wainwright Prize Shortlist 2023 for UK Nature Writing [NHBS List]

The Wainwright Prize, first awarded in 2014, is a literary prize that seeks to reward the best British outdoors, nature and travel writing. The prize is named in honour of Alfred Wainwright (1907-1991), the British author, illustrator and hillwalker who is most well-known for his seven-volume Pictorial Guide to the Lakeland Fells, published between 1955-1966. In 2022, the Wainwright Prize was renamed the James Cropper Wainwright Prize after signing a sponsorship deal with James Cropper, a paper manufacturer based in the English Lake District.

In 2020, The James Cropper Wainwright Prize was extended to include a second category to cover writing on global conservation, while here we present the twelve longlisted candidates for UK nature writing.

Previous year’s winners are James Aldred's Goshawk Summer (2022) James Rebanks's English Pastoral (2021), Dara McAnulty's Diary of a Young Naturalist (2020), Robert Macfarlane's Underland (2019), Adam Nicolson's The Seabird's Cry (2018), John Lewis-Stempel's Where Poppies Blow (2017), Amy Liptrot’s The Outrun (2016), John Lewis-Stempel’s Meadowland (2015) and Hugh Thomson’s The Green Road Into The Trees (2014).