All Shops
We're still open for business - read our Brexit and Covid-19 statements

British Wildlife

8 issues per year 84 pages per issue Subscription only

British Wildlife is the leading natural history magazine in the UK, providing essential reading for both enthusiast and professional naturalists and wildlife conservationists. Published eight times a year, British Wildlife bridges the gap between popular writing and scientific literature through a combination of long-form articles, regular columns and reports, book reviews and letters.

Subscriptions from £40 per year

Conservation Land Management

4 issues per year 44 pages per issue Subscription only

Conservation Land Management (CLM) is a quarterly magazine that is widely regarded as essential reading for all who are involved in land management for nature conservation, across the British Isles. CLM includes long-form articles, events listings, publication reviews, new product information and updates, reports of conferences and letters.

Subscriptions from £18 per year
Academic & Professional Books  Botany  Plants & Botany: Biology & Ecology

A Garden of Marvels How We Discovered That Flowers Have Sex, Leaves Eat Air, and Other Secrets of Plants

Popular Science Out of Print
By: Ruth Kassinger(Author)
416 pages, illustrations
Publisher: HarperCollins
A Garden of Marvels
Click to have a closer look
Select version
  • A Garden of Marvels ISBN: 9780062049018 Paperback Jun 2015 Out of Print #222310
  • A Garden of Marvels ISBN: 9780062048998 Hardback Apr 2014 Out of Print #213571
About this book Related titles

About this book

In the tradition of The Botany of Desire and Wicked Plants, a witty and engaging history of the first botanists interwoven with stories of today's extraordinary plants found in the garden and the lab.

In Paradise Under Glass, Ruth Kassinger recounted with grace and humor her journey from brown thumb to green, sharing lessons she learned from building a home conservatory in the wake of a devastating personal crisis.

In A Garden of Marvels, she extends the story. Frustrated by plants that fail to thrive, she sets out to understand the basics of botany in order to become a better gardener. She retraces the progress of the first botanists who banished myths and misunderstandings and discovered that flowers have sex, leaves eat air, roots choose their food, and hormones make morning glories climb fence posts. She also visits modern gardens, farms, and labs to discover the science behind extraordinary plants like one-ton pumpkins, a truly black petunia, a biofuel grass that grows twelve feet tall, and the world's only photosynthesizing animal. Transferring her insights to her own garden, she nurtures a "cocktail" tree that bears five kinds of fruit, cures a Buddha's Hand plant with beneficial fungi, and gets a tree to text her when it's thirsty.

Intertwining personal anecdote, accessible science, and untold history, the ever-engaging author takes us on an eye-opening journey into her garden – and yours.

Customer Reviews

Popular Science Out of Print
By: Ruth Kassinger(Author)
416 pages, illustrations
Publisher: HarperCollins
Media reviews

"After 'murdering' a kumquat tree through hard pruning, Ruth Kassinger set out to understand plant physiology through the history of botany. In this scientific wonderland, we encounter Robert Hooke's exquisite drawings of plant structure in Micrographia (1665); arsenic-gobbling brake ferns; and the single eukaryote that, 1.6 billion years ago, engulfed a cyanobacterium and spawned the multitude of chloroplasts that made life on Earth possible."
– Barbara Kiser, Books in brief, Nature 507, 20 March 2014

Current promotions
British WildlifeBloomsbury PublishingBacklist Bargains 2021Order your free copy of our 2020 equipment catalogue