All Shops

British Wildlife

8 issues per year 84 pages per issue Subscription only

British Wildlife is the leading natural history magazine in the UK, providing essential reading for both enthusiast and professional naturalists and wildlife conservationists. Published eight times a year, British Wildlife bridges the gap between popular writing and scientific literature through a combination of long-form articles, regular columns and reports, book reviews and letters.

Subscriptions from £40 per year

Conservation Land Management

4 issues per year 44 pages per issue Subscription only

Conservation Land Management (CLM) is a quarterly magazine that is widely regarded as essential reading for all who are involved in land management for nature conservation, across the British Isles. CLM includes long-form articles, events listings, publication reviews, new product information and updates, reports of conferences and letters.

Subscriptions from £18 per year
Good Reads  Evolutionary Biology

Every Life Is on Fire How Thermodynamics Explains the Origins of Living Things

Popular Science Coming Soon
By: Jeremy England(Author)
272 pages, 10 b/w illustrations
Publisher: Basic Books
Every Life Is on Fire
Click to have a closer look
  • Every Life Is on Fire ISBN: 9781541699014 Hardback 2020 Available for pre-order : Due Oct 2020
    £22.99
    #251237
Price: £22.99
About this book Customer reviews Related titles

About this book

A preeminent physicist unveils a field-defining theory of the origins and purpose of life.

Why are we alive? Most things in the universe aren't. And everything that is alive traces back to things that, puzzlingly, weren't.

For centuries, the scientific question of life's origins has confounded us. But in Every Life Is on Fire, physicist Jeremy England argues that the answer has been under our noses the whole time, deep within the laws of thermodynamics. England explains how, counterintuitively, the very same forces that tend to tear things apart assembled the first living systems.

But how life began isn't just a scientific question. We ask it because we want to know what it really means to be alive. So England, an ordained rabbi, uses his theory to examine how, if at all, science helps us find purpose in a vast and mysterious universe.

In the tradition of Viktor Frankl's Man's Search for Meaning, Every Life Is on Fire is a profound testament to how something can come from nothing.

Customer Reviews

Popular Science Coming Soon
By: Jeremy England(Author)
272 pages, 10 b/w illustrations
Publisher: Basic Books
Media reviews

"A unique project that proposes to build a metaphorical bridge between the richness of mythic language and the precision of physical theory. Somewhere below this bridge flow the waters in which biological life first evolved and upon which England is an ecumenical-physicist river guide."
– David Krakauer, President and William H. Miller Professor of Complex Systems, Santa Fe Institute

"In this sparklingly original book, Jeremy England tackles perhaps the biggest scientific question of all – what is life, and how did it emerge from inanimate matter? With crystal clear explanations of deep concepts such as reductionism and emergence, or the fluctuation theorem from non-equilibrium statistical mechanics (who knew that could be done?), the book offers a heady intellectual smorgasbord. It's a delight to read, not only for its charming content, but, because, much like the Hebrew scriptures interwoven throughout the text, the prose flows with a poetic rhythm. I couldn't put it down." – Ard Louis, University of Oxford

 

 

Current promotions
British WildlifeoupNest Box Price List 2020Order your free copy of our 2020 equipment catalogue