All Shops

Go to British Wildlife

6 issues per year 84 pages per issue Subscription only

British Wildlife is the leading natural history magazine in the UK, providing essential reading for both enthusiast and professional naturalists and wildlife conservationists. Published six times a year, British Wildlife bridges the gap between popular writing and scientific literature through a combination of long-form articles, regular columns and reports, book reviews and letters.

Subscriptions from £25 per year

Conservation Land Management

4 issues per year 44 pages per issue Subscription only

Conservation Land Management (CLM) is a quarterly magazine that is widely regarded as essential reading for all who are involved in land management for nature conservation, across the British Isles. CLM includes long-form articles, events listings, publication reviews, new product information and updates, reports of conferences and letters.

Subscriptions from £18 per year
Academic & Professional Books  Organismal to Molecular Biology  Animals: Vertebrate Zoology

Evolution and Biogeography of Australasian Vertebrates

Out of Print
Edited By: JR Merrick, M Archer, GM Hickey and MSY Lee
942 pages, line diagrams, 100 colour plates
Publisher: Auscipub
Evolution and Biogeography of Australasian Vertebrates
Click to have a closer look
Select version
  • Evolution and Biogeography of Australasian Vertebrates ISBN: 9780975779002 Paperback Dec 2006 Out of Print #164346
  • Evolution and Biogeography of Australasian Vertebrates ISBN: 9780975779019 Hardback Dec 2006 Out of Print #164345
About this book Related titles

About this book

Provides a comprehensive overview of the knowledge of vertebrate diversity within Australasia, together with discussion of the factors that influenced the evolution and distributions of the faunas we see today. By considering the major forces shaping the extant vertebrate assemblages, using new techniques and strategies, we can formulate ideas about how to best conserve and manage these dynamic vertebrate groups as well as the ecosystem complexes on which they depend.

The 38 chapters are divided into 7 major sections. The first group of chapters covers the general topics of classification and evolution, together with geologic and climatic processes influencing environments and biogeography of parts of Australasia. Then follow 5 sections that each concentrate on a major vertebrate grouping, from primitive jawless fishes to specialized marine mammals and humans. The final section focuses on the future, describing some of the latest techniques and systems used for assessing biodiversity and assisting in conservation management.

Each chapter is fully sourced and illustrated with line diagrams, as well as other figures next to the relevant text. Attempts have been made to maintain a clear, informal style for readers without specialized knowledge and a humorous or irreverent essence when appropriate. The 136 colour plates are distributed throughout the book as close to the related chapters as possible. A general combined Index is at the back.

Over 50 leading researchers, from all parts of Australasia and elsewhere, have combined as authors and coauthors to make this a ground-breaking volume of international significance. This resource book follows in the tradition of Vertebrate Zoogeography & Evolution in Australasia (edited by Archer and Clayton) released in 1984.

Customer Reviews

Out of Print
Edited By: JR Merrick, M Archer, GM Hickey and MSY Lee
942 pages, line diagrams, 100 colour plates
Publisher: Auscipub
Current promotions
Best of Winter 2018Harper CollinsOrder your free copy of our 2018 equipment catalogueBritish Wildlife