To see accurate pricing, please choose your delivery country.
 
 
United States
£ GBP
All Shops
We're still open for business - read our Brexit and Covid-19 statements

British Wildlife

8 issues per year 84 pages per issue Subscription only

British Wildlife is the leading natural history magazine in the UK, providing essential reading for both enthusiast and professional naturalists and wildlife conservationists. Published eight times a year, British Wildlife bridges the gap between popular writing and scientific literature through a combination of long-form articles, regular columns and reports, book reviews and letters.

Subscriptions from £40 per year

Conservation Land Management

4 issues per year 44 pages per issue Subscription only

Conservation Land Management (CLM) is a quarterly magazine that is widely regarded as essential reading for all who are involved in land management for nature conservation, across the British Isles. CLM includes long-form articles, events listings, publication reviews, new product information and updates, reports of conferences and letters.

Subscriptions from £18 per year
Good Reads  Natural History  Fiction

Greenwood A Novel

New
By: Michael Christie(Author)
Greenwood
Click to have a closer look
Select version
  • Greenwood ISBN: 9781912854998 Paperback Feb 2021 Usually dispatched within 1 week
    £9.99
    #254100
  • Greenwood ISBN: 9781911617846 Hardback Feb 2020 Out of Print #254099
Selected version: £9.99
About this book Customer reviews Biography Related titles

About this book

A spellbinding eco fable for fans of David Mitchell, Richard Powers, and Margaret Atwood.

'The truth is that all family lines, from the highest to the lowest, originate somewhere, on some particular day. Even the grandest trees must've once been seeds spun helpless on the wind, and then just meek saplings nosing up from the soil.'

2038. On a remote island off the Pacific coast of British Columbia stands the Greenwood Arboreal Cathedral, one of the world's last forests. Wealthy tourists flock from all corners of the dust-choked globe to see the spectacle and remember what once was. But even as they breathe in the fresh air and pose for photographs amidst the greenery, guide Jake knows that the forest is dying, though her bosses won't admit it.

1908. Two passenger locomotives meet head-on. The only survivors are two young boys, who take refuge in a trapper's cabin in a forest on the edge of town. In twenty-six years, one of them, now a recluse, will find an abandoned baby – another child of Greenwood – setting off a series of events that will change the course of his life, and the lives of those around him.

Structured like the rings of a tree, this remarkable novel moves from the future to the present to the past, and back again, to tell the story of one family and their enduring connection to the place that brought them together.

Customer Reviews

Biography

Michael Christie is the author of the novel If I Fall, If I Die, which was longlisted for the Scotiabank Giller Prize and the Kirkus Prize, was selected as a New York Times Editors’ Choice, and was on numerous best of 2015 lists. His linked collection of stories, The Beggar’s Garden, was longlisted for the Scotiabank Giller Prize, shortlisted for the Writers’ Trust Fiction Prize, and won the Vancouver Book Award. His essays and book reviews have appeared in The New York Times, The Washington Post, and The Globe and Mail. A former carpenter and homeless shelter worker, he divides his time between Victoria, British Columbia, and Galiano Island, where he lives with his wife and two sons in a timber-frame house that he built himself.

New
By: Michael Christie(Author)
Media reviews

"An arresting eco-parable."
– Alfred Hickling, The Guardian

"There are plenty of visionary moments laced into [Christie's] shape-shifting narrative [...] Greenwood penetrates to the core of things."
– Michael Upchurch, The New York Times Book Review

"This book is why we read books. Why we need books. Wildly inventive, structurally elegant, deeply felt, and so very wise. Greenwood is Michael Christie's best work ever, and that's saying something."
– Alexander MacLeod, author of Light Lifting

"A lyrical, meditative take on a world in which forests have become such rare commodities that they are turned into therapeutic retreats for the very wealthy."
– Sally Adee, New Scientist

"Christie skillfully teases out the details in a page-turner of a saga that complements sylvan books such as Sometimes a Great Notion and The Overstory [...] Beguilingly structured, elegantly written: eco-apocalyptic but with hope that somehow we'll make it."
Kirkus, starred review

"This is one of 'those' books. One of 'those' books that grabs your heart and soul and fills you up to overflowing with the immensity of all that's contained within its pages."
– Gill Chedgey, NB magazine

"Greenwood is brilliant. Michael Christie shows a cross section of one family's history, revealing their dark secrets, loves, losses, and the mark of an accident still visible four generations later. Year by year, page by page, the layers of this intricate and elegant novel build into an epic story that is completely absorbing. I had to cancel everything for this book because I couldn't stop reading."
– Claire Cameron, author of The Last Neanderthal

"[An] eerily real-feeling future."
Globe and Mail

"Rich with evocative descriptions of West Coast wilderness and anchored by a deep visceral bond to the trees that sustain us all, Greenwood is a literary page-turner that manages to be both nostalgic and modern, personal and political, intimately human and big-picture historical. In an era of so much uncertainty, it is comforting to see novelists begin to work through the biggest issue of our age. And, in this case, convert our collective suffering into brilliant, beauty-filled art."
Toronto Star

"[S]tructured like the growth rings of a tree, spanning generation [...] [Greenwood] looks at families, love and secrets against the backdrop of the 'magic' of trees."
– CBC News

Current promotions
British WildlifeField Studies CouncilSpecial Offer: Ecology and Natural History bookOrder your free copy of our 2021 equipment catalogues