To see accurate pricing, please choose your delivery country.
 
 
United States
£ GBP
All Shops
EU Shipping Update - read more

British Wildlife

8 issues per year 84 pages per issue Subscription only

British Wildlife is the leading natural history magazine in the UK, providing essential reading for both enthusiast and professional naturalists and wildlife conservationists. Published eight times a year, British Wildlife bridges the gap between popular writing and scientific literature through a combination of long-form articles, regular columns and reports, book reviews and letters.

Subscriptions from £40 per year

Conservation Land Management

4 issues per year 44 pages per issue Subscription only

Conservation Land Management (CLM) is a quarterly magazine that is widely regarded as essential reading for all who are involved in land management for nature conservation, across the British Isles. CLM includes long-form articles, events listings, publication reviews, new product information and updates, reports of conferences and letters.

Subscriptions from £22 per year
Good Reads  Natural History  Biography, Exploration & Travel

In Search of the Woman Who Sailed the World

Biography / Memoir
By: Danielle Clode(Author)
384 pages
In Search of the Woman Who Sailed the World
Click to have a closer look
  • In Search of the Woman Who Sailed the World ISBN: 9781760784959 Paperback Sep 2020 Usually dispatched within 2-4 weeks
    £39.99
    #258527
Price: £39.99
About this book Customer reviews Biography Related titles

About this book

A voyage of discovery, nature and untold histories – in the vein of Clare Wright, Edmund de Waal and Helen Macdonald.

When the first woman to circumnavigate the world completed her journey in 1775, she returned home without any fanfare at all. Jeanne Barret, an impoverished peasant from Burgundy, disguised herself as a man and sailed on the 1766 Bougainville voyage as the naturalist's assistant. For over two centuries, the story of who this young woman was, why she left her home to undertake such a perilous journey and what happened when she returned has been shrouded in uncertainty.

Biologist and award-winning author Danielle Clode embarks on a journey to solve the mysteries surrounding Jeanne Barret. From archives, herbariums and museums to untouched forests and open oceans, Clode's mission takes her from France and Mauritius to the Pacific Islands and New Guinea to reveal the previously untold full story of Jeanne's life as well as the achievements and challenges of her famous voyage. In Search of the Woman Who Sailed the World is an ode to the sea, to science and to one remarkable woman who, like all explorers, charted her own course for others to follow.

Customer Reviews

Biography

Danielle Clode is an award-winning author, biologist, and research fellow at Flinders University. She grew up on a boat, worked in zoos, museums and universities and has spent many years as a freelance researcher, editor, writer and teacher. Her first book on French exploration, Voyages to the South Seas, won the 2007 Victorian Premier's Literary Award for Non-fiction, and most recently The Wasp and the Orchid was shortlisted for the 2019 National Biography Award.

Biography / Memoir
By: Danielle Clode(Author)
384 pages
Media reviews

– Shortlisted for the Adelaide Festival Awards for Literature Non-Fiction Award 2022

"Clode conjures a spellbinding tale of gender, empire, natural history – and the lure of the ocean."
– Yves Rees

"Seamlessly weaving together memoir, history and science [...] a fascinating and deeply affecting exploration of voyaging, women's lives, and the stories we tell and the stories we don't."
– James Bradley

"Biologist, historian, writer, Clode once again demonstrates the connectedness of everything – animals, land, people, plants, sea, sky – at a time when, more than ever, we should be acutely aware of it."
– Gay Lynch

"A joy to read, simple yet elegant, it whispers in your ear like the sea murmuring from within a shell."
– Kristin Weidenbach

"Danielle Clode unties the knots of myth and weaves a fascinating story of discovery; Jeanne Barret is one of history's most enigmatic explorers."
– Nick Brodie

"Clode brings a scientific rigour and a celebration of natural history to the biography of this important woman."
– Stephanie Parkyn

Current promotions
Collins Bird Guide (New Edition)British Wildlife MagazineEcho Touch Meter 2 - AndroidBrowse our 2022 Equipment Catalogues