All Shops

Go to British Wildlife

6 issues per year 84 pages per issue Subscription only

British Wildlife is the leading natural history magazine in the UK, providing essential reading for both enthusiast and professional naturalists and wildlife conservationists. Published six times a year, British Wildlife bridges the gap between popular writing and scientific literature through a combination of long-form articles, regular columns and reports, book reviews and letters.

Subscriptions from £25 per year

Conservation Land Management

4 issues per year 44 pages per issue Subscription only

Conservation Land Management (CLM) is a quarterly magazine that is widely regarded as essential reading for all who are involved in land management for nature conservation, across the British Isles. CLM includes long-form articles, events listings, publication reviews, new product information and updates, reports of conferences and letters.

Subscriptions from £18 per year
Good Reads  Conservation & Biodiversity  Conservation & Biodiversity: General

Irreplaceable The Fight to Save Our Wild Places

Nature Writing New
By: Julian Hoffman(Author)
404 pages, no illustrations
Publisher: Hamish Hamilton
NHBS
A gripping reportage from the frontline of the fight against habitat loss, giving a voice to grassroots campaigners and professional ecologists alike.
Irreplaceable
Click to have a closer look
Select version
  • Irreplaceable ISBN: 9780241293881 Hardback Jun 2019 In stock
    £18.99
    #243280
Selected version: £18.99
About this book Customer reviews Biography Related titles

About this book

For readers of George Monbiot, Mark Cocker and Robert Macfarlane – an urgent and lyrical account of endangered places around the globe and the people fighting to save them.

All across the world, irreplaceable habitats are under threat. Unique ecosystems of plants and animals are being destroyed by human intervention. From the tiny to the vast, from marshland to meadow, and from Kent to Glasgow to India to America, they are disappearing.

Irreplaceable is more than a love letter to the haunting beauty of these landscapes and the rare species that call them home. It is also a timely account of the vital connections between humans and wildlife, uniting people to save these special places from extinction.

From local communities and grassroots campaigners to professional ecologists and academics, Julian Hoffman traces conservation stories around the globe. And in the process, he asks what a deep emotional connection to place offers us – culturally, socially and psychologically. In this rigorous, intimate and impassioned account, he presents a powerful call to arms in the face of unconscionable natural destruction.

Customer Reviews

Biography

Julian Hoffman is the author of The Small Heart of Things, which won the 2012 AWP Award Series for Creative Nonfiction and the National Outdoor Book Award for Natural History Literature. He has also written for EarthLines, Kyoto Journal, Beloit Fiction Journal, The Briar Cliff Review, Wild Apples, Flyway, The Redwood Coast Review, Fifth Wednesday Journal, Silk Road Review, Three Coyotes and Southern Humanities Review, amongst others. He lives in northwestern Greece.

Nature Writing New
By: Julian Hoffman(Author)
404 pages, no illustrations
Publisher: Hamish Hamilton
NHBS
A gripping reportage from the frontline of the fight against habitat loss, giving a voice to grassroots campaigners and professional ecologists alike.
Media reviews

"The power of Hoffman's book lies in the reporting: he doesn't deal – as many environmentalists do – in generalities and alarmist warnings about what lies ahead for the world, but in the specifics of the here and now."
Evening Standard

Current promotions
Handbook of the mammals of the world batsJohns Hopkins University PressBritish WildlifeOrder your free copy of our 2018 equipment catalogue