All Shops

Go to British Wildlife

6 issues per year 84 pages per issue Subscription only

British Wildlife is the leading natural history magazine in the UK, providing essential reading for both enthusiast and professional naturalists and wildlife conservationists. Published six times a year, British Wildlife bridges the gap between popular writing and scientific literature through a combination of long-form articles, regular columns and reports, book reviews and letters.

Subscriptions from £25 per year

Conservation Land Management

4 issues per year 44 pages per issue Subscription only

Conservation Land Management (CLM) is a quarterly magazine that is widely regarded as essential reading for all who are involved in land management for nature conservation, across the British Isles. CLM includes long-form articles, events listings, publication reviews, new product information and updates, reports of conferences and letters.

Subscriptions from £18 per year
Academic & Professional Books  Evolutionary Biology  Human Evolution & Anthropology

Life at the Extremes The Science of Survival

Popular Science
By: Frances Ashcroft
326 pages, B/w photos, b/w illus
Publisher: Flamingo
Life at the Extremes
Click to have a closer look
Select version
  • Life at the Extremes ISBN: 9780006551256 Paperback Jul 2001 Usually dispatched within 6 days
    £9.99
    #145883
  • Life at the Extremes ISBN: 9780002559461 Hardback Dec 2000 Out of Print #106984
Selected version: £9.99
About this book Customer reviews Biography Related titles

About this book

Explores the limits to human survival in harsh environments with reference to the physiological adaptations of other species. A popular science landmark in the tradition of Steve Jones and Susan Greenfield, by the Oxford Professor of Physiology.

Customer Reviews

Biography

Frances Ashcroft is a Professor of Physiology at Oxford. She divides her time between research on insulin, teaching and writing. 'She seems to have experienced most of the extreme environments she investigates, and has the power of making the armchair adventurer feel quite frail. Add to that her gift for carving deep into your mind how vulnerable our species is to extreme conditions, and you are in for a thrilling read. Life at the Extremes is fascinating an extremely engaging piece of work.' New Scientist 'Easy to read, entertaining and informative' John Gribbin, Sunday Times
Popular Science
By: Frances Ashcroft
326 pages, B/w photos, b/w illus
Publisher: Flamingo
Media reviews
'She has the power of making the armchair adventurer feel quite frail. Add to that her gift for carving deep into your mind how vulnerable our species is to extreme conditions, and you are in for a thrilling read.' New Scientist 'I read "Life at the Extremes" with horrid delight!It is extremely good, crammed with invaluable information but you don't need a degree in cryptocryogenics to understand it. Here is a scientist who can enthral even as she instructs -- and the way she accomplishes this is by telling adventure stories!As a testament to the tenacity of the human race, this book is a potent mix of the ingenious, the heroic and the hardy.' Literary Review 'For would-be explorers snuggled up in their armchairs -- or, indeed stretched out on the beach -- this book, with its many vicarious thrills, makes for ideal reading.' Economist 'A very good book!which works both as a continuous narrative of delightful vignettes and a quick reference guide. Easy to read, entertaining and informative.' Sunday Times 'Ashcroft is good at opening up aspects of daily life normally sealed off to the non-scientist.' Sara Wheeler, Spectator
Current promotions
Best of Winter 2018Handbook of the Bees of the British Isles (2-Volume Set)Order your free copy of our 2018 equipment catalogueBritish Wildlife