To see accurate pricing, please choose your delivery country.
 
 
United States
£ GBP
All Shops
We're still open for business - read our EU and Covid-19 statements

British Wildlife

8 issues per year 84 pages per issue Subscription only

British Wildlife is the leading natural history magazine in the UK, providing essential reading for both enthusiast and professional naturalists and wildlife conservationists. Published eight times a year, British Wildlife bridges the gap between popular writing and scientific literature through a combination of long-form articles, regular columns and reports, book reviews and letters.

Subscriptions from £40 per year

Conservation Land Management

4 issues per year 44 pages per issue Subscription only

Conservation Land Management (CLM) is a quarterly magazine that is widely regarded as essential reading for all who are involved in land management for nature conservation, across the British Isles. CLM includes long-form articles, events listings, publication reviews, new product information and updates, reports of conferences and letters.

Subscriptions from £18 per year
Good Reads  Organismal to Molecular Biology  Ethology

Nature Is Never Silent How Animals and Plants Communicate With Each Other

Popular Science Coming Soon
By: Madlen Ziege(Author), Alexandra Roesch(Translated by)
Nature Is Never Silent
Click to have a closer look
  • Nature Is Never Silent ISBN: 9781913348243 Hardback Oct 2021 Available for pre-order : Due Oct 2021
    £14.99
    #254609
Price: £14.99
About this book Customer reviews Biography Related titles

About this book

For readers of Entangled Life and The Hidden Life of Trees, a fascinating journey into the world of plants and animals, and the ways they communicate with each other. In forests, fields, and even gardens, there is a constant exchange of information going on. Animals and plants must communicate with one another to survive, but they also tell lies, set traps, talk to themselves, and speak to each other in a variety of unexpected ways. Here, behavioural biologist Madlen Ziege reveals the fascinating world of nonhuman communication. In charming, humorous, and accessible prose, she shows how nature's language can help us to understand our own place in the natural world a little better.

Originally published in German in 2020 as Kein Schweigen im Walde: Wie Tiere und Pflanzen Miteinander Kommunizieren.

Customer Reviews

Biography

Madlen Ziege studied biology in Potsdam, Berlin and Australia. In her doctorate at the Goethe University in Frankfurt, she studied the communicational behaviour of wild rabbits in urban and rural areas. She works as a behavioural biologist and inspires people of all ages for scientific research with her science slams.

Alexandra Roesch is a bicultural, bilingual freelance translator based in Frankfurt, Germany. An experienced translator of fiction and nonfiction, she has an MA in translation from the University of Bristol and was longlisted for the 2018 Helen & Kurt Wolff Translator’s Prize.

Popular Science Coming Soon
By: Madlen Ziege(Author), Alexandra Roesch(Translated by)
Media reviews

"It's always amazing how talkative nature is – very enlightening and entertaining!"
– Peter Wohlleben, author of The Hidden Life of Trees

"In accessible language [Ziege] reports on fascinatingly clever chemical communication among bacteria; tells how wild rabbits coordinate and how badgers warn their enemies [...] Mushrooms set traps, fish lie, and fox and fir tree say goodnight. Illuminating brain food."
OÖ news

"Communication between animals and plants takes on a whole new dimension."
Mittagzmagazin

"In the forest and in your own garden, things are [...] anything but quiet and calm, as Madlen Ziege, in a light and entertaining way, and using astonishing scientific knowledge, shows us."
Kronen Zeitung

Current promotions
British WildlifePrincetonCollins Birds of the World - 30% off pre-orderOrder your free copy of our 2021 equipment catalogues