All Shops

Go to British Wildlife

6 issues per year 84 pages per issue Subscription only

British Wildlife is the leading natural history magazine in the UK, providing essential reading for both enthusiast and professional naturalists and wildlife conservationists. Published six times a year, British Wildlife bridges the gap between popular writing and scientific literature through a combination of long-form articles, regular columns and reports, book reviews and letters.

Subscriptions from £25 per year

Conservation Land Management

4 issues per year 44 pages per issue Subscription only

Conservation Land Management (CLM) is a quarterly magazine that is widely regarded as essential reading for all who are involved in land management for nature conservation, across the British Isles. CLM includes long-form articles, events listings, publication reviews, new product information and updates, reports of conferences and letters.

Subscriptions from £18 per year
Academic & Professional Books  Ornithology  Non-Passerines  Birds of Prey

Raptor A Journey Through Birds

Nature Writing
By: James Macdonald Lockhart(Author)
376 pages, no illustrations
Publisher: Fourth Estate
NHBS
A stunning debut in the tradition of Robert Macfarlane and Helen Macdonald
Raptor
Click to have a closer look
Select version
  • Raptor ISBN: 9780007459896 Paperback May 2017 In stock
    £9.99
    #227068
  • Raptor ISBN: 9780007459872 Hardback Feb 2016 In stock
    £16.99
    #227069
Selected version: £9.99
About this book Customer reviews Biography Related titles

About this book

Of all the birds of the British Isles, the raptor reigns supreme, sparking the imagination like no other. In this magnificent hymn to these beautiful animals, James Macdonald Lockhart explores all fifteen breeding birds of prey on these shores – from the hen harrier swimming over the land in the dregs of a May gale on Orkney, to the ghostly sparrowhawk displaying in the fields around his home in Warwickshire. This is a book that will change how we think of our own skies.

Customer Reviews

Biography

James Macdonald Lockhart is an associate editor of, and regular contributor to, Archipelago Magazine, and a literary agent at Antony Harwood Limited.

Nature Writing
By: James Macdonald Lockhart(Author)
376 pages, no illustrations
Publisher: Fourth Estate
NHBS
A stunning debut in the tradition of Robert Macfarlane and Helen Macdonald
Media reviews

"Lockhart's prose is usually so intimate, urgent, and visceral as to make his darkly resonant ruminations almost unfailingly gripping"
Independent

"A hymn in praise of living, soaring, terrifying grandeur [...] From the first page, his exquisite, poetic language is a sensuous delight without sacrificing scientific accuracy. Raptor is, quite simply, a tour de force"
Daily Mail

"James MacDonald Lockhart puts the rapture back in the raptor. This is in-the-moment writing, raw in beak and claw. With its gorgeously felt sense of life and place, Raptor rips at its words, turning them into exquisite portraits of the utter wild, shaping soaring, obsessive beauty out of the British landscape and its imperial birds. A true heir to J.A. Baker's The Peregrine, and T.H. White's The Goshawk, this is a unique and wonderful work."
– Philip Hoare

"James MacDonald Lockhart's soaring debut is a perfect synthesis of travel writing and natural history [...] He laces vivid prose with illuminating facts to explore his own colourful experiences without shifting focus from the birds themselves [...] Lockhart elegantly depicts these creatures of the sky and, in doing so, celebrates the natural richness of the country over which they fly"
Financial Times

"If you publish a book on birds of prey in the tumultuous wake of Helen MacDonald's prizewinning H is for Hawk, you expect comparisons. James MacDonald Lockhart can relax. His book is outstanding [...] His facts are couched in unusual and resonant contexts [...] The writing is beautifully precise [...] For Lockhart, it becomes clear, wild birds of prey represent the living spirit of a place- of Britain. In this delicate, complex, open-ended book, full of freshness and movement, he captures that wild spirit without ever making it feel captive"
Sunday Times

"There is much to like, with ornithological instruction leavened by general knowledge and travel to entertain a broad readership"
Spectator

"Lockhart brings out both the birds' ecstatic gifts of flight but also the tragedy and triumph of their predatory lifestyle [...] His descriptions are as precise as they are inventive"
Observer

"Lockhart is stepping towards the distinguished company of the great modern literary books on birds of prey [...] The writing, at times, is as good as anything we have on the subject to date"
Country Life

"His understanding of raptor ethology shines"
Nature

"[...] Any bird of prey fan, particularly those with an interest in these spectacular birds' changing fortunes over time, will find it irresistible, and it is thoroughly recommended."
– Rob Hume, BirdGuides, 31-08-2016

Current promotions
Handbook of the mammals of the world batsPenguin Random House South AfricaBritish WildlifeNest Box Price List 2019