All Shops

Go to British Wildlife

6 issues per year 84 pages per issue Subscription only

British Wildlife is the leading natural history magazine in the UK, providing essential reading for both enthusiast and professional naturalists and wildlife conservationists. Published six times a year, British Wildlife bridges the gap between popular writing and scientific literature through a combination of long-form articles, regular columns and reports, book reviews and letters.

Subscriptions from £25 per year

Conservation Land Management

4 issues per year 44 pages per issue Subscription only

Conservation Land Management (CLM) is a quarterly magazine that is widely regarded as essential reading for all who are involved in land management for nature conservation, across the British Isles. CLM includes long-form articles, events listings, publication reviews, new product information and updates, reports of conferences and letters.

Subscriptions from £18 per year
Good Reads  Marine & Freshwater Biology  Fishes  Bony Fishes

Stronghold One Man's Quest to Save the World's Wild Salmon – Before It's Too Late

New
By: Tucker Malarkey(Author)
Publisher: Short Books
Stronghold
Click to have a closer look
Select version
  • Stronghold ISBN: 9781780724010 Hardback Sep 2019 In stock
    £16.99
    #245422
Selected version: £16.99
About this book Customer reviews Biography Related titles

About this book

One man's bold mission to save the world's last great salmon habitat – before it's too late.

In the tradition of Mountains Beyond Mountains and The Orchid Thief, Stronghold is Tucker Malarkey's gripping account of one man's determination to protect the world's last bastion for wild salmon. From a young age, Guido Rahr was a misfit among his family and classmates, preferring to spend his time in the natural world, on his family's land on the Deschutes River in Oregon. Over the years, as he became an expert fly fisherman, he noticed that each year fewer salmon were returning to their place of birth to spawn, and set out to learn why. What he discovered alarmed him; as the river homes of these fish became increasingly inhospitable to them, due to dams, industry, and climate change, the salmon of the Pacific Rim seemed destined to quickly go the way of the salmon who once filled the Atlantic Ocean: near extinction.

An improbable and inspiring story, Stronghold takes us on a wild and at times dangerous adventure – from Oregon to Alaska to one of the world's last remaining salmon strongholds, in the Russian Far East – a landscape of ecological richness and diversity that is rapidly being developed for oil, gas, minerals, and timber. As Rahr befriends and navigates scientists, conservationists, corrupt officials, Russian oligarchs, unexpected allies, and impenetrable bureaucracies, he reveals the astonishing natural history of the endangered salmon, an extraordinary species whose demise will reverberate across the planet. And he sets into motion a plan that can secure their survival.

Tucker Malarkey is a stunning writer who accompanies Rahr to the Russian wilderness and reports from up close. She has written a clarion call for a sustainable future, a beautiful and riveting account of a species whose future is closely linked to that of our own.

Customer Reviews

Biography

Tucker Malarkey spent four years working on the Foreign Desk of The Washington Post and then with columnist Haynes Johnson on the book Sleepwalking through History, a bestselling account of the Reagan years. She is a graduate of the Iowa Writers Workshop and is the author of the novels An Obvious Enchantment and Resurrection. She taught writing workshops in Portland's public school system and was a founding editor of Tin House magazine, a literary journal based in Portland and New York.

New
By: Tucker Malarkey(Author)
Publisher: Short Books
Current promotions
Handbook of the mammals of the world batsSpringer NatureBritish WildlifeNest Box Price List 2019