All Shops

Go to British Wildlife

6 issues per year 84 pages per issue Subscription only

British Wildlife is the leading natural history magazine in the UK, providing essential reading for both enthusiast and professional naturalists and wildlife conservationists. Published six times a year, British Wildlife bridges the gap between popular writing and scientific literature through a combination of long-form articles, regular columns and reports, book reviews and letters.

Subscriptions from £25 per year

Conservation Land Management

4 issues per year 44 pages per issue Subscription only

Conservation Land Management (CLM) is a quarterly magazine that is widely regarded as essential reading for all who are involved in land management for nature conservation, across the British Isles. CLM includes long-form articles, events listings, publication reviews, new product information and updates, reports of conferences and letters.

Subscriptions from £18 per year
Academic & Professional Books  Reference  Physical Sciences  Cosmology & Astronomy

The Motion Paradox The 2,500-Year-Old Puzzle Behind All the Mysteries of Time and Space

By: Joseph Mazur
Publisher: Dutton Books
The Motion Paradox
Click to have a closer look
Select version
  • The Motion Paradox ISBN: 9780525949923 Hardback Apr 2007 Usually dispatched within 1 week
    £26.50
    #169416
Selected version: £26.50
About this book Customer reviews Related titles

About this book

The epic tale of an ancient, unsolved puzzle and how it relates to all scientific attempts to explain the basic structure of the universe At the dawn of science the ancient Greek philosopher Zeno formulated his paradox of motion, and amazingly, it is still on the cutting edge of all investigations into the fabric of reality. Zeno used logic to argue that motion is impossible, and at the heart of his maddening puzzle is the nature of space and time. Is space-time continuous or broken up like a string of beads? Over the past two millennia, many of our greatest mindsincluding Aristotle, Galileo, Newton, Einstein, Stephen Hawking, and other current theoreticianshave been gripped by the mystery this puzzle represents. Joseph Mazur, acclaimed author of "Euclid in the Rainforest," shows how historic breakthroughs in our understanding of motion shed light on Zenos paradox. The orbits of the planets were explained, the laws of motion were revealed, the theory of relativity was discoveredbut the basic structure of time and space remained elusive. In the tradition of "Fermats Enigma" and "Zero, The Motion Paradox" is a lively history of this apparently simple puzzle whose solutionif indeed it can be solvedwill reveal nothing less than the fundamental nature of reality.

Customer Reviews

By: Joseph Mazur
Publisher: Dutton Books
Current promotions
Backlist BargainsThe Mammal SocietyOrder your free copy of our 2018 equipment catalogueBritish Wildlife