Books  Ecological & Biological Sciences  Evolutionary Biology  Evolution 

The Other Left Side: Left and Right in Evolution and Other Essays

Popular ScienceComing Soon
Playfully bridging science and culture in the hallowed tradition of Stephen Jay Gould and Lewis Thomas

By: Tijs Goldschmidt(Author), Sherry MacDonald(Translated by)

Seven Stories Press

Hardback | Jan 2018 | #235228 | ISBN-13: 9781609806668
Available for pre-order: Details
NHBS Price: £19.99 $26/€23 approx

About this book

In essays like How to Fake Faking, and the title essay, The Other Left Side: the Phenomenon of Left and Right in Evolution, Tijs Goldschmidt shatters our expectations of what a scientific essay is and then rebuilds it in intensely personal, artful and wry ways. Goldschmidt has won the top awards in the Netherlands and is well known internationally within the field of science writing. Now for the first time available in English, his essays crackle with insight and joy at the discoveries to be made in the world in which we live – whether comparing the courtship rituals of men on the dance floor to the springtime courtship rituals of Eurasian wading birds, or visiting Hitler's watercolours in the vault of the US Army Centre of Military History in Washington, DC, or noting how clumsy swifts are when brooding on land, or writing fascinatingly about left- and right-handedness.

In the tradition of Stephen Jay Gould and Lewis Thomas, a gorgeous book of essays steeped in current evolutionary thought, one that invites readers to delight in our evolutionary present. This is a book for any reader, one that turns the deep currents of contemporary evolutionary biology into something to be savoured and enjoyed by all.


Write a review

There are currently no reviews for this book. Be the first to review this book!


Biography

Trained in animal ecology and evolutionary biology, Tijs Goldschmidt abandoned his academic career at Leiden University in 1993 to dedicate himself fully to writing. Darwin's Dreampond: Drama in Lake Victoria (1996) was his first book published in English, an account of a five-year stay in Tanzania in the 1980s studying the now-renowned cichlid fishes of Lake Victoria. In 2000, Goldschmidt was awarded the most prestigious Dutch prize for essay writing, the Jan Hanlo Essay Prize. He has since written a number of other books and given many lectures, including the Stephen Jay Gould Lecture in 2003, on the phenomenon of left and right in evolution, and the Huizinga Lecture in 2007, on 'How to Fake Faking', about the role of play in culture.

Sherry Macdonald's translations from the Dutch for American publishers include Darwin's Dreampond by Tijs Goldschmidt and Tonguecat (Farrar, Straus and Giroux, 2003) by Peter Verhelst.

Bestsellers in this subject

Sexual Selection

NHBS Price: £83.95 $110/€96 approx

Improbable Destinies

NHBS Special Offer Price: £7.99 £9.99 (Save £2.00) $10/€9 approx (ends 31/12/2018)

Unnatural Selection

NHBS Special Offer Price: £26.99 £34.99 (Save £8.00) $35/€31 approx (ends 31/12/2018)

Evolution and Selection of Quantitative Traits

NHBS Price: £115.00 $151/€131 approx

The Struggle of Life

Clearance price: £4.25 £42.00 (Save £37.75) $6/€5 approx

VAT: GB 407 4846 44
NHBS Ltd is registered in England and Wales: 1875194