To see accurate pricing, please choose your delivery country.
 
 
United States
£ GBP
All Shops

British Wildlife

8 issues per year 84 pages per issue Subscription only

British Wildlife is the leading natural history magazine in the UK, providing essential reading for both enthusiast and professional naturalists and wildlife conservationists. Published eight times a year, British Wildlife bridges the gap between popular writing and scientific literature through a combination of long-form articles, regular columns and reports, book reviews and letters.

Subscriptions from £33 per year

Conservation Land Management

4 issues per year 44 pages per issue Subscription only

Conservation Land Management (CLM) is a quarterly magazine that is widely regarded as essential reading for all who are involved in land management for nature conservation, across the British Isles. CLM includes long-form articles, events listings, publication reviews, new product information and updates, reports of conferences and letters.

Subscriptions from £26 per year
Other  Natural History  Children's  Children's Books  Children's Books: Wildlife

The Unlikely Hero The Story of Wolf 8

New
By: Rick McIntyre(Author), David A Poulsen(Author)
120 pages
Publisher: Greystone Books
The Unlikely Hero
Click to have a closer look
  • The Unlikely Hero ISBN: 9781778400223 Hardback Jun 2024 Not in stock: Usually dispatched within 1-2 weeks
    £14.99
    #263969
Price: £14.99
About this book Customer reviews Biography Related titles Recommended titles

About this book

The Young Readers' Edition of Rick McIntyre's The Rise of Wolf 8.

For readers of Pax and A Wolf Called Wander comes the gripping true story of one of Yellowstone's most famous wolves. In this easy-to-follow book, renowned wolf researcher Rick McIntyre draws on his longtime work with the Yellowstone wolves to tell the remarkable tale of Wolf 8 for children. Newly reintroduced along with his pack to Yellowstone National Park, Wolf 8 struggles at first. Small and often bullied by his siblings, he must learn to fend for himself in his new home. Soon enough, though, little 8 grows into one of Yellowstone's greatest leaders. Based on McIntyre's own sightings of Wolf 8 and told in a thrilling style, The Unlikely Hero is an unforgettable adventure – and a rare glimpse into the fascinating world of wolves.

Renowned wolf expert Rick McIntyre and award-winning author David A. Poulsen join forces to bring the stories of Yellowstone's most famous wolves to young readers. Based on McIntyre's award-winning, bestselling books for adult readers, and containing a wealth of scientifically sound information on wolf behaviour, this series is written in an engaging style that brings the drama and intrigue of the wolves' world to life.



Age Level: Junior scientist

Customer Reviews

Biography

Rick McIntyre has spent more than forty-four years watching wolves in America's national parks, twenty-eight of those years in Yellowstone, and has written several books about the wolves for adult readers.

David A. Poulsen is the author of twenty-seven books, many for middle readers and young adults. His young adult novel Numbers was selected for the Sakura Medal (awarded by English-speaking high school students in Japan to their favourite novel of the year). His teen/YA novel And Then the Sky Exploded was a nominee for the 2018 Ontario Library Association's Red Maple Award. To learn more about David and his work, visit www.davidapoulsenauthor.com.

 

New
By: Rick McIntyre(Author), David A Poulsen(Author)
120 pages
Publisher: Greystone Books
Media reviews

"The Unlikely Hero: The Story of Wolf 8 is the gripping and true story of a small and scrappy young wolf who became the patriarch of the most powerful pack in Yellowstone National Park. [...] An inspiring read for any child who loves the natural world."
– Rosanne Parry, New York Times bestselling author of A Wolf Called Wander

"Reading Rick McIntyre's books, it's like you're out there with him, seeing what he sees."
– Lilly Sullivan, This American Life

"Harrowing and heartwarming [...] . narrated in approachable, engrossing prose and interspersed with first-person reminiscences, offers an in-depth look into the life of one of Yellowstone's most famous wolves [...] ..educates readers on the dangers wolves face, but they also tell an underdog story, setting out to prove that 'even the smallest individual can be a big hero.'"
– Cade Williams, Shelf Awareness

"Lets readers see inside the animals' minds and feel their experiences."
Youth Services Book Review

"Readers will feel as if they're watching the games, hunts and other incidents from within the pack [...] .Notable."
Kirkus

"The first in an exciting new series [...] .insightful and moving."
Booklist, Starred Review

Current promotions
Field Guide SaleNHBS Moth TrapNew and Forthcoming BooksBuyers Guides