To see accurate pricing, please choose your delivery country.
 
 
United States
£ GBP
All Shops

British Wildlife

8 issues per year 84 pages per issue Subscription only

British Wildlife is the leading natural history magazine in the UK, providing essential reading for both enthusiast and professional naturalists and wildlife conservationists. Published eight times a year, British Wildlife bridges the gap between popular writing and scientific literature through a combination of long-form articles, regular columns and reports, book reviews and letters.

Subscriptions from £33 per year

Conservation Land Management

4 issues per year 44 pages per issue Subscription only

Conservation Land Management (CLM) is a quarterly magazine that is widely regarded as essential reading for all who are involved in land management for nature conservation, across the British Isles. CLM includes long-form articles, events listings, publication reviews, new product information and updates, reports of conferences and letters.

Subscriptions from £26 per year
Good Reads  Natural History  Regional Natural History  Natural History of Asia-Pacific

Without Ever Reaching the Summit

Biography / Memoir New
By: Paolo Cognetti(Author), Stash Luczkiw(Translated by)
137 pages, no illustrations
Publisher: Vintage
Without Ever Reaching the Summit
Click to have a closer look
Select version
  • Without Ever Reaching the Summit ISBN: 9781529925432 Paperback Jun 2024 In stock
    £10.99
    #264962
  • Without Ever Reaching the Summit ISBN: 9781787302273 Hardback Nov 2020 Not in stock: Usually dispatched within 5 days
    £14.99
    #264961
Selected version: £10.99
About this book Customer reviews Biography Related titles Recommended titles

About this book

Paolo Cognetti marked his 40th birthday with a journey he had always wanted to make: to Dolpo, a remote Himalayan region where Nepal meets Tibet. He took with him two friends, a notebook, mules and guides, and a well-worn copy of The Snow Leopard. Written in 1978, Matthiessen's classic was also turning forty, and Cognetti set out to walk in the footsteps of the great adventurer.

Without Ever Reaching the Summit combines travel journal, secular pilgrimage, literary homage and sublime mountain writing in a short book for readers of Macfarlane, Rebanks and Cognetti's own bestseller, The Eight Mountains. An investigation into the author's physical limits, an ancient mountain culture, and the magnificence of nature, it is an awestruck love letter to one of the most spectacular places on earth.

Customer Reviews

Biography

Paolo Cognetti was born in 1978 in Milan. He divides his time between the city and his cabin 6,000 feet up in the Italian Alps. His international bestseller, The Eight Mountains, won Italy's Premio Strega and is now a major film. His other acclaimed titles include Without Ever Reaching the Summit: A Himalayan Journey, and The Lovers.

Stash Luczkiw is a US-born writer of poetry, fiction and journalism. He has translated various books from Italian and other languages into English.
 

Biography / Memoir New
By: Paolo Cognetti(Author), Stash Luczkiw(Translated by)
137 pages, no illustrations
Publisher: Vintage
Media reviews

"Fresh and completely engaging [...] [Cognetti] has a studied simplicity that is suggestive of a mountaineer's ascetic temperament and the writing also feels perfectly adjusted to the daunting character of Dolpo [...] [a] captivating travelogue"
– Mark Cocker, Spectator

"A breath of fresh air for mountain-lovers currently in confinement, this slim, elegant account follows Cognetti's trek through the remote Dolpo region of northwestern Nepal [...] The sparse, graceful prose [...] reflects the barren landscape and the author's joy in paring back the distractions of modern life – Tom Robbins"
Financial Times, Books of the Year

Current promotions
Field Guide SaleNHBS Moth TrapNew and Forthcoming BooksBuyers Guides