All Shops
We're still open for business, read our Covid-19 statement here

British Wildlife

8 issues per year 84 pages per issue Subscription only

British Wildlife is the leading natural history magazine in the UK, providing essential reading for both enthusiast and professional naturalists and wildlife conservationists. Published eight times a year, British Wildlife bridges the gap between popular writing and scientific literature through a combination of long-form articles, regular columns and reports, book reviews and letters.

Subscriptions from £40 per year

Conservation Land Management

4 issues per year 44 pages per issue Subscription only

Conservation Land Management (CLM) is a quarterly magazine that is widely regarded as essential reading for all who are involved in land management for nature conservation, across the British Isles. CLM includes long-form articles, events listings, publication reviews, new product information and updates, reports of conferences and letters.

Subscriptions from £18 per year
Academic & Professional Books  Natural History  Regional Natural History  Natural History of Europe

The Alps A Human History from Hannibal to Heidi and Beyond

By: Stephen O'Shea(Author)
318 pages, 4 b/w maps
The Alps
Click to have a closer look
Select version
  • The Alps ISBN: 9780393355697 Paperback Jan 2018 Usually dispatched within 4 days
    £12.99
    #241934
  • The Alps ISBN: 9780393246858 Hardback deckle edge Feb 2017 Usually dispatched within 4 days
    £19.99
    #241933
Selected version: £12.99
About this book Customer reviews Biography Related titles

About this book

For centuries the Alps have seen the march of armies, the flow of pilgrims and Crusaders, the feats of mountaineers, and the dreams of engineers – and some 14 million people live among their peaks today. In The Alps, Stephen O'Shea takes readers up and down these majestic mountains, battling his own fear of heights to journey through a 500-mile arc across France, Italy, Switzerland, Liechtenstein, Germany, Austria, and Slovenia.

O'Shea, whose style has been hailed for its "engaging combination of candid first-person travel writing and absorbing historical narrative" (Chicago Sun-Times), whisks readers along more than 2,000 years of Alpine history. As he travels pass-by-pass through the mountains, he tells great stories of those (real and imagined) who have passed before him, from Hannibal to Hitler, Frankenstein's monster to Sherlock Holmes, Napoleon to Nietzsche, William Tell to James Bond. He explores the circumstances behind Hannibal and his elephants' famous crossing in 218 BCE; he reveals how the Alps have profoundly influenced culture from Heidi to The Sound of Music; and he visits iconic sites, including the Reichenbach Falls, where Arthur Conan Doyle staged Sherlock Holmes's death scene with Professor Moriarty; Caporetto, the bloody site of the Italians' retreat in World War I; and the Eagle's Nest, Hitler's aerie of a vacation home.

O'Shea delves into Alpine myths and legends, such as the lopsided legs of the dahu, the fictitious goatlike creature of the mountains, and reveals why the beloved St. Bernard dog is so often depicted with a cask hanging below its neck. Throughout, he immerses himself in the communities he visits, engagingly recounting his adventures with contemporary road trippers, watchmakers, salt miners, cable-car operators, and yodelers.

Customer Reviews

Biography

Stephen O'Shea is the author of several books about European history, including the acclaimed Back to the Front and Sea of Faith. He lives in Providence, Rhode Island.

By: Stephen O'Shea(Author)
318 pages, 4 b/w maps
Media reviews

"A thrilling blend of contemporary travelogue and historical narrative about the Alps from "a graceful and passionate writer""
Washington Post

"An ebulllient narrative [...] This spirited jaunt into the peaks of Europe may inspire readers to pack their bags."
Kirkus

"An entertaining, turbocharged race among the high mountain passes of six alpine countries."
– Liesl Schillinger, New York Times Book Review

"With [O'Shea's] playful approach to language and a willingness to put himself in uncomfortable situations [...] this clever meeting of history, literature, and travelogue is a treat for readers of Bill Bryson and Tony Horwitz."
Library Journal

"The combination of a contemporary first-person travelogue in which we motor along with O'Shea, traversing peaks and peeking into crevasses, and a time-tripping riffle through Alpine history's greatest hits proves an ideal mix."
Passport

"I would follow Stephen O'Shea anywhere he travels, and this book is a real adventure, both geographically and intellectually – an eloquent and engaging exploration that shows how and why these dizzy peaks have for centuries been at the forefront of the European cultural imagination."
– Ross King, best-selling author of Brunelleschi's Dome

"Chock-full of colorful facts [...] O'Shea is at his best when describing the architectural marvels of the places he visits, it's literary trivia [...] and such folk-ways as yodeling. [He] comes across as a charming, ever-curious, and knowledgeable raconteur."
Publishers Weekly

 "[O'Shea] is an amiable guide to the riches of this vast mountain range – culinary, linguistic, literary, cultural and geologic."
– Matthew Price, Newsday

"Splendid [...] A great pleasure to read."
– Jonathan Steinberg, Times Literary Supplement

Current promotions
British WildlifeWNPBest of Winter 2020Order your free copy of our 2020 equipment catalogue